Earth and Life

Well now, that feels better

Over the last week or so I had been mulling over a decision.  I finally made up my mind last night.  I have had a Facebook account for quite awhile and the only problem I ever had with it was how people would use it to attack one another publicly or air their dirty laundry.  No matter how tempting it was, I wouldn’t get into the middle of that sort of thing because I didn’t want my name attached to it, you know?

I’m not doing to go into details, but imagine my hurt and surprise when I stumble across some very recent messages written by my daughter-in-law and her family, about me.  They weren’t kind.  I haven’t a clue what brought it on, but I was hurt.  I have always adored her and thought the feeling was mutual.  Apparently I thought wrong.  It’s not what she said so much as it is that she posted that in a public place for anyone and everyone to read.  I don’t love her any less after reading it, but now I know what she really thinks of me.  Just when you think you know someone….

What it boils down to is this:  Facebook used to be fun.  It no longer is.  There is just way too much drama, negativity, and BS for me.  I deactivated my account this morning and I am so relieved to have done it.  Oh, I know that the drama and BS will continue, but I choose not to be exposed to it any longer.  I’d rather be oblivious to it….it’s much better for my health that way.   The people who DO matter will know how to get ahold of me.

Please do not think that I am being critical of Facebook, I am not.  There’s nothing wrong with Facebook, the problem lies with the people who use it.

Okay, I’m stepping down off my soapbox.  I’m cranky this morning, so you’ll have to excuse me.  I have a heart condition and when I get worked up I get palpitations.  I didn’t sleep  too well last night because of it.

Leave a Reply

