knitting

Countdown: 6 months & 18 days

Wow, this year is just flying by, isn’t it?  Hard to believe that today is June 7th!  I need to get busy on my Christmas knitting.  I know, Christmas is 6 months and 18 days away.  But I have a big family and 6 grandchildren to knit for.  I told hubs that instead of buying stuff for everyone this year I would be making the vast majority of it.

I came up with the idea that I would make each adult/couple a box of Christmas ornaments.  I’ve found a ton of adorable free patterns over at Ravelry.  I’m toying with the idea of putting a “bow” on top of each box made out of several handknit dishcloths.  I’ve gotten a start on the dishcloths, I have 4 done.  The great thing about them is that they take very little time or cotton yarn to make.  And again, there are tons of great free patterns out there.  Like this blog, Down Cloverlaine I love her dishcloths!!!

I have not finished that interesting knitting project I spoke of last week…..I’ve been a bit stumped on one small finishing detail.  The knitting and assembly are all complete.  I just haven’t decided how I want to proceed with that one detail that would really “make” this complete.  Last night I came up with a few ideas that I’m going to experiment with before deciding on the one I’ll use.

Other than that I’ve been concentrating more on my charity knitting and crocheting.  I’m working on the 10th Anniversary Knit Sweater for Kids using some donated yarn.  Plus I am finally getting to the bottom of a ball of Pound of Love yarn.  I tell you, that is like the never-ending ball of yarn!!!  I have made a baby afghan, a 5 Hour Sweater, and 4 12″ afghan squares with it.   Not my favorite yarn to work with, but it’s nice not having to join a new ball of yarn half way through a project. 😉

We’ve gotten a LOT of rain this past week and I took this shot from the front porch shortly after a particularly heavy downpour:

Leave a Reply

