Reusable grocery bags and more

I’ve posted before about the things my family is doing to reduce our impact on the planet.  One of the things we do is use reusable bags.  I just read this article about them : Reusable Shopping Bags: Safe? I hope you will take the time to read through the article, most especially if you use reusable bags.   What it boils down to is this: wash them periodically.  I have to admit, that I hadn’t given it much though until I read that article, but it makes sense.  On a side note: I recently heard someone in line at the grocery store bragging about how they are helping to save the planet by using reusable bags, then went out and loaded their groceries into their Hummer.  Saving the planet?  By driving a gas guzzler??

In knitting, I have finished the socks I was designing.  If you look to the right of your screen you will see my Flickr photos.  I’m plodding my way through writing and graphing the pattern out now.  I have been encouraged to offer them for sale on Ravelry, so we’ll see how that goes.  Now I’m working on a pair of fingerless gloves that I’m designing.  I’ve got an idea for another pair of socks, so that will be drawn out today.

I had read about a fun little website that will give you prompts for writing on your blog more frequently.  Which explains my recent post about Little House on the Prairie.  Check it out over at Plinky You do have to join if you want it to link to your blog, but it’s free to join.  It was fun to scroll through the many different prompts and read some of the responses.

Today I run again.  I’m in week 2 of Couch to 5K I actually repeated week 1 since I didn’t feel I was ready to move on to week 2.  But it’s great because you do notice an increase in endurance.  I haven’t weighed in yet, I don’t want to get obsessed with the scale, so I try to avoid weighing too often.  I feel great though!  And yesterday when I got dressed I noticed that my capris were fitting more loosely in the hip area.  Ah, improvement! 😀

Leave a Reply

